Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-07-2007, 17:15   #1

Hello from a total novice

I have been lurking and reading here for a couple of weeks and thought I should introduce myself. I am a total novice when it comes to sailing. I am actually still saving to take lessons, but my husband and I have dreams of cruising someday. I'm kind of obsessed with the idea.

I am 28 and he is 24 and we have a 3 year old and a 2 year old, so it will be a while. On the plus side, that gives us a lot of time to plan and save. We live on one income, and that will be going up by about 30% over the next two years as he finishes his apprenticeship. Once the girls are in school and I am back to work we should be able to save all of my income and some of his. My husband works a seasonal job in construction, so as soon as the girls are grown we would have 6 months a year free to cruise. When my husband is 52 he will be eligible for his pension and we could retire and go full time.

OK, I am probably putting the cart before the horse with all of these dreams, but indulge me. There are so few people who understand our dream. I am so glad to have found this forum. There is so much I can learn from all of you!
Stella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2007, 19:41   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
Stella - Welcome aboard and compliments on your enthusiasm. Where are you all located? Near the water I hope!

Not to be preachy but as you are young I feel compelled to give a little advice.