Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-07-2014, 08:09   #1

Hello and pleased to pick your brains

Hello,
My name is Dave. I've been lurking these forums since deciding to set my focus on sailing and purchasing a boat to live aboard about 2 years ago. I've finally made the step to join and become part of this community and am on track to have my dreams become reality within the next year or so.
A little about me. I'm a 40 old disabled veteran of the US Navy with over 2 years seatime on aircraft carriers. I've travelled around the world within and outside the military and have lived all around the US. My sailing experience is limited to a few trips on a friend's boat. I have extensive experience with sea kayaking and have been paddling the US east coast for almost 20 years, including a 6 week solo paddle along the coast of Maine. I was also a sea kayak instructor and guide in Florida for a few years, where I taught basic navigational skills and general boating safety. I'm hoping that experience will prove to be a helpful start in the sailing world.
My dream is to purchase a bluewater capable liveaboard and SLOWLY work my way from the ICW to a circumnavigation. Between reading books, lurking forums, taking a few lessons and picking several sailors brains, I have a good idea that I should be searching for a sturdy, safe, single-hand capable s/v within the 28-34ft range. These forums have been more than helpful in shedding more light on those requirements.
A short list of what I hope to learn in the near future is:
1. A list of "must have" reading materials
2. How to buy a boat, deal with brokers and get the best for my money
3. Liveaboard tips and tricks
4. What boat will best serve my needs
5. What costs are required aside from the boat upon initial purchase
6. What is required to travel abroad
My goals between now and next summer are to:
1. Take a diesel engine mech course