Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-05-2010, 00:43   #1

Boat: 1969 Coronado yacht
Greetings from Seattle

Hi everybody!

I am brand new to sailing. Long story short: I found myself in a position where I needed cheap, immediate, short term housing and ended up living on a sailboat that's three minute's walk from work. Two weeks into it, I had fallen head over heels in love with the boat, and with the lifestyle. Happily, the boat owner was looking to sell it to a good home, so here I am, a first-time boat owner and a liveaboard. I am reading up as much as I can and looking into sailing classes, but also planning some crash courses with the previous owner. Anyway, just wanted to say hello and hoping I can get some good advice for a total greenie in this fantastic sport called sailing. Thanks!
Lovelyr3ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2010, 00:53   #2
Long Range Cruiser

Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Hi and welcome

Before you buy that boat you need a expert to come and have a look at it and prepare you a report.

A Marine Surveyor doesn't come cheap, but its pretty importnat to make sure its not going to sink at the dock and make you liable for removal fees.

I'm sure you will be fine and have a great boat to learn the fun and adventure of sailing

Mark

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2010, 15:29   #3

Boat: Pacific Seacraft a Crealock 34