Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-11-2013, 10:01   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Generator for Laggon 410

Hi to everybody:
New to this community and new to catamarans. We have plans to buy a used Lagoon 410 from the charter fleets in Tortola but as you all know they are not equip with a diesel generator to supply energy (4-5kw unit) for two A/C units. I took the port water hatch dimensions and it is very small. 18.5 in (wide) x 41.5 in (long). In my Google search no info.
Is there anybody with recommendations?
__________________

__________________
svilagoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2013, 05:52   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,586
Images: 240
Re: Generator for Laggon 410

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, svilagoon
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2013, 08:42   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oriental, NC
Boat: Mainship Pilot 34
Posts: 1,429
Re: Generator for Laggon 410

The NextGen 5.5 KW unit should fit. It is 23" long x 17' wide x 20" high, and dry weight is only 230 lbs.

The NextGen and is a 2,800 rpm light weight genset. Fine for casual use but for full time liveaboard use will not be as good as a Northern Lights. But a Northern Lights won't fit.

David
__________________
djmarchand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2013, 11:23   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Re: Generator for Laggon 410

David, thank you for the advise.
__________________
svilagoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 14:46   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
SkiprJohn's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kea'au, Big Island, Hawaii
Boat: Cascade, Sloop, 42 - "Casual"
Posts: 14,192
Re: Generator for Laggon 410

Aloha and welcome aboard!
kind regards,
__________________
John
SkiprJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 14:47   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
SkiprJohn's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kea'au, Big Island, Hawaii
Boat: Cascade, Sloop, 42 - "Casual"
Posts: 14,192
Re: Generator for Laggon 410

Are you certain you need a generator? Solar panels and a wind generator won't do?
__________________
John
SkiprJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 15:22   #7
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: In Myrtle Beach, then southbound
Boat: Lagoon 410
Posts: 368
Re: Generator for Laggon 410

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkiprJohn View Post
Are you certain you need a generator? Solar panels and a wind generator won't do?
John, I believe he's trying to run two A/C units, thus the need for the genset.
__________________
In Florida headed south for the Keys, then north...
www.elcaminoblog.com
Sid at SailAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 16:01   #8
Senior Cruiser
 
SkiprJohn's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kea'au, Big Island, Hawaii
Boat: Cascade, Sloop, 42 - "Casual"
Posts: 14,192
Re: Generator for Laggon 410

Ok, that explains it.
__________________
John
SkiprJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 16:07   #9
Senior Cruiser
 
Rocketman's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Naples, FL
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 400
Posts: 668
Re: Generator for Laggon 410

Before going to the expence of a onboard gen set, make sure you really want one. When in the marina you have shore power, when at anchor, with solar and wind you would be able to power everything except AC. With a 2000 w honda generator you can run one AC unit and have backup power to charge batterys if needed. With my little honda I can run the AC, which I have done a grand total of one time on a hot July night, and then only because I wanted to see if it would do it. The problem with more equipment is everything becomes more complex and keeping everything running means more problems. It it were me, I would do everything possible to keep from adding a heavy, and expenisive dudad.
__________________

__________________
Rocketman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.