Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-02-2007, 07:14   #1

From Eastern Canada, Beginner with Tons of Questions

Hey Everyone, I am new to sailing, and I am looking for information regarding different types of boats and sailing in general. I have never sailed before but I plan to retire(close to 20 years from now) sailing around the world. I was wondering what type of boat would be needed for that type of travel, such as minimum length, and equipment needed, and even type of boat that would be best, monohull or multihull, brand names, and how old of a boat would you feel comfortable with sailing across the ocean? Should I go new or would a good used be sufficiant. Economical of course, not too extravagant. From my research it seems like the multihull would be the better fit for me but nothin is definate yet. I hear some say that the multihull would not be the best to cross the ocean's in, that is why I need your advise. This is something that will probubly not happen for a little while of course since I have never sailed before. So that brings me to question #2. What can I do to learn? What is a cheaper way to learn the basics of sailing and down the road, what is the best way to become experienced enough to attempt the around the world trip, Courses, experience, etc. Also, when people sail the world, do they usually sail in groups of boats or individually. Finally, what cost are expected in your travels, such as the average fee to stay docked at a marina for a couple days. Fuel costs, Maintenance costs, etc. Also, can you get enough electricity from solar panels and wind turbines to power your boat or do you h