Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2014, 14:22   #1

Family as Volunteer Crew

So I am new on this forum. I have a huge interest to go traveling and my partner would love to own a sailboat. Yet the plunge of buying a boat seems to be rather an expensive endeavor. So, I got to daydreaming and was thinking once our new little family is financial stable enough what are the chances of a family of three joining a cruiser trip as volunteer or hired crew. Our daughter will be 4 or 5 and my partner was in the Navy with lots of boat and sailing experience. I have some experience with one sailing trip to Alaska and have lived near the river my entire life and I am a great cook. We are accustomed to living in close quarters currently. Ideally, it would be awesome to join another family on their sailboat but however it works, we are all in for a good fun adventure.

Is there an availability for a crew team of 2.5?
Arnmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 19:07   #2

Boat: Pearson 365 Sloop and 9' Fatty Knees.
Re: family as volunteer crew

Welcome to the forum. In all honesty...a snowballs chance in hell. What has been recommended to many people starting out is joining a sailing program and getting started in small sailing boats or dinghy's. You'll meet plenty of people with varied degrees of experience.
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming: Wow - what a ride!"
Celestialsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 00:21   #3