Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2010, 19:43   #1

Can I Do this from Utah ?

So, took a fit recently and decided to get serious about long-time dreams/plans of serious cruising. The logistical problem is that I'm currently living in Utah (much to my surprise). When I think I can take some real time off (1-4 years) I can pretty much be anywhere, so it's not out of the question.

I have some background in sailing (raced in HS, grab a chance when I can, which is rare) but have been doing things like diving which are easier to pack into a weekend. Right now my plan is to take some classes, do a bunch of charters and validate that, yes, this is what I want to prep for. Maybe get something not too ridiculous and do a couple of decent trips (1-2 month) and if that goes well ramp up for RTW silliness.

I guess my open question is - how much of this can I realistically do with only a moderate lake nearby? If I'm gonna pick a base somewhere on the coast, it'll be a plane ride away and could be anywhere. Florida seems to have the most activity, but for cost/tax/community reasons I could see arguments for Seattle or smaller ports on the Gulf Coast. I have roots in New England, NYC too.

Anybody out there combining cruising with a landlocked life?
Dulinor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2010, 19:57   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Quote:
I guess my open question is - how much of this can I realistically do with only a moderate lake nearby?