Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 29-09-2013, 23:46   #1

Big Dreams and not a clue

Thanks for having a page I can get a bit of info from.

I'm 45 and married with two kids. We live in Missouri. Never sailed a boat or been on a sailboat. Was a Boy Scout so I know a few knots. I'm still having trouble picking up the lingo.

But I'm in love with the Caribbean. The breeze, the climate, the ocean, the people, and the slower way of life.

So like plenty before me. Here I am to soak up info and trying to figure out if We could handle the onboard lifestyle. Only be 3 of us. And 2 of us 5 years from now.

So that's my intro

Craig

Old 30-09-2013, 01:31   #2

Boat: Beneteau 473
Welcome KC! The Caribbean is a truly beautiful and magical place. My husband I have been coming down here since 2005. First as bareboat charters, now as cruisers. We retired a year ago and moved aboard in Puerto Rico where we outfitted the boat last fall/winter.

Before you jump into sailing, you might want to find out if you all can live together in a small space 24/7. Try renting an RV and traveling of a couple of weeks. If you haven't killed each other after that LOL, try a few bareboat charters with a captain. If the magic grabs you, then start learning to sail and start your planning then.

Bon Voyage!
Robyn

Time is a companion that goes with us on a journey. It reminds us to cherish each moment, because it will never come again. What we leave behind is not as important as how we have lived. JEAN LUC PICARD, Captain of the Starship Enterprise
SmartMove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2013, 04:01   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Big Dreams and not a clue

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF,Craig.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2013, 10:41   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by GordMay View Post
Greetings and welcome aboard the CF,Craig.
Thank you GordMay
Old 30-09-2013, 10:49   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmartMove View Post