Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 27-01-2010, 06:03   #1

Boat: Wittholz 40
Another Ahoy from Toronto

Ahoy To All

I may have been here before but so long ago that I am a newbie for sure.

The discussion on why marinas hate liveaboards caught my eye as I was searching for something to do with “liveaboards”. I wanted to add my two cents worth but I think the posters have already covered it all very well.

In my bio I wrote I was a boat bum with a summer job - no, not Jimmy Buffett.
I’m a marine surveyor / cruiser / liveaboard, getting too old for crawling in bilges….

I’ll try to keep my rants short.

Old 27-01-2010, 06:40   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Capt. Joe (& Wendy).

I believe I’ve read a couple of your rants, and (accordingly) expect to welcome your expert & informed opinion(s), as you're moved to share them.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 21:50   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Cascade, Sloop, 42 - "Casual"
Aloha and welcome aboard!
Kind regards,
Old 10-02-2010, 07:09   #4

Mahalo John
Old 29-09-2011, 13:35   #5

Boat: Cruisers 3650 36'
Send a message via Skype™ to Will I Am
Re: Another Ahoy from Toronto

Experienced rants...the best kind....About to liveaboard for our first winter in Toronto....any suggestions?
Are there alternatives to high apm consumption agitators for the water? Which are the most energy efficient heaters (low amperage) for engine room and cabins? Do I have to winterize the engines and Generator? (both are water cooled but I heard they could be kept functional throughout the winter if properly heated.) I heard tale of a time in toronto when the power went out for fifteen hours....our generator would sure keep the lights and everything else working for us.
Old 02-10-2011, 07:28   #6

Hi Will

> "Do I have to winterize the engines and Generator? "