Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-02-2008, 07:46   #1

almost there

so here goes... my girl and i have a 40k budget to buy a boat and live aboard as long as possible (gulf/florida/carribean). i have a little sailing experience and she has none. we're relatively young (21,26) so comfort can be sacrificed for economy. i would apprecieate any critique of the plan thus far.

i've been considering the hunter, catalina, and endeavours in the 27-32 foot range from about 1977-85. they all seem to be listed around 18k (is there a reason these makers seem to be a bit cheaper?) or would it be more wise to go newer and end up with less cash on hand?

i am mechanical engineer and millwright by trade so i would like to think i can handle most repairs/maintainence. she is a certified bartender with plenty of experience... thought that might be good for extra cash from time to time.

and finally, we intend to stay at anchor most of the time rather than in a marina. i haven't been able to figure out the rules pertaining to that, like can you anchor off a beach, go ashore, and leave the boat for a few hours? (just doesn't seem like a good idea to me)

thanks for taking the time to read this and we'll see those of you that are are around florida in may
thestonefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2008, 08:48   #2

Boat: Marine Trader 34DC