Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-03-2009, 05:13   #1

Boat: Albin Vega 27
Absolute beginners - UK

Hi everyone
First of all let me say how impressed I am by the friendliness of this site. I hope this means I won't be laughed at when I tell you we just bought our first boat, a 21 foot cruiser, with only a very basic knowledge of how to sail. For various reasons, it was now or never, and we were hoping we could learn as we went along. However, basic stuff like changing the running rigging has left us stumped. We think it needs doing but don't know where to start. Can anyone recommend a good book or website that explains things to absolute beginners?
Thanks in advance,
Rachel.
trio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 05:46   #2
CF Adviser
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 380, now sold
Hello, Rachel, and welcome to Cruisers Forum.

Is there a yacht club or sailing club near you? Joining a club is a great way to meet knowledgeable sailors who will be more than willing to help you figure things out.

Here are a few links to threads from our archives on the subject of getting started...

http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f9/saying-hi-4984.html

http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...ooks-3061.html

http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...ail-23669.html

Try the Google search function in the smaller "Search" pull-down menu up top for additional leads. Again, glad to have you here!
Old 23-03-2009, 06:04   #3

Boat: Boatless
Rachel