Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-01-2013, 22:36   #1

Boat: Olson 30
2 Years

Hello all!

OK, good news! My wife and my boss have both given me blessing for a 2 year sailing hiatus. Now what? I intend to leave in 2 years for a 2 year "milk run" from Miami to New Zealand. Can that be done? We are a family of 4, with two boys, currently 3 and 5. I have extensive sailing experience. (we have had a racing sailboat for 12 years, and have done many bareboat charters) But, I really want to have a once in a lifetime family sailing experience. Before the boys get too old. Before we get too old. I don't want to sit at my desk for the next 20 years dreaming about this. I want to go now (or as soon as the boys are old enough to remember).

The current plan is:
-Hire Robert Perry as a consultant
-Sale current race boat within 1 year
-Buy good cruising boat in about a year and haul to lake nearby in TX
-Practise and prepare boat for cruise
-Haul to Miami in 2 years and do Caribbean semi circle to Canal. (1st year)
-Canal to NZ by various Pacific Islands. (2nd year)
-Dockwise back to San Diego then truck back to TX

I don't want to rush, but have "my timeline".

Thoughts?

PS. I will have many other questions. (some dumb) But, I have never seen them addressed in sailing blogs. Thanks!
Hillsrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2013, 22:51   #2

Boat: Kelsall Suncat 40
Re: 2 Years

Why not wait until the kids are old enough to stand a watch? In 2 years, they will only be 5 and 7. They will be additional work for you and the wife at that age, rather than a help. Are you going to take along extra crew to babysit the kids as well as babysit the boat?