Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Flotsam & Sailing Miscellany
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-04-2008, 00:06   #1

Boat: Endeavour CC 40' AbbyGale
Who wants to dive for treasure?

I’m an amateur treasure hunter. That means I dream more about it than actually going out and finding it. I’ve got my underwater metal detectors, and do a little poking about here and there off the west coast of Florida. The east coast is overpopulated populated with treasure hunters, and all of the good hunting areas are under contractual leases already.

Well, there were galleons on the west coast of Florida too. Captiva Island was the home to a few pirates, along with Tampa, Charlotte Harbor, and a few other great spots.

I’ve done a little research in the area and am having a great time ‘hunting’ the lost booty. So far the finds have been few. No gold or silver, but I’ve found some bottles, ship pieces and parts, and a few other odds and ends. One day, it will be where I’m looking, or so I hope.

I just thought I would pass on this information if you want to dive some sites with the Fishers in Key West. It’s a fun opportunity for some young folks looking for a new adventure.

Happy hunting and fair winds!

Information about becoming a crew member for Mel Fisher’s Dive Team

on the Atocha & Margarita Wreck Sites

What are we looking for today: