Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-07-2011, 12:25   #1

Boat: inland kittiwake 24' and inland Pearson 32'
This Is Impossible

Hey everyone its been awhile.
Ok here's the deal. Now I know there are a million similar posts and bear with me on this but here's my problem.
I currently live in the midwest, that being said, I don't have the luxury to sit at the docks shaking hands. I have extensive experience on board all sizes of sailing vessels as well as powered boats, I hold an OD/Wiper MMD, TWIC, and am a NREMT-Intermediate. I'm finding it impossible finding ANY job on board ANY type of boat. Now I know there are a lot of people trying to land jobs on boats, but it seems as though it was easier to find these jobs about ten years ago, that's when I got a job on board a tugboat in New York. I have been all over the internet searching for any boat job, regardless of the amount of pay and all I have gotten back in return are scams, about 10 of them. Does anyone know how someone from the midwest might be able to at the very least obtain a solid contact? If so I would greatly greatly appreciate any and all help. Thank you all again in advance.
Old 14-07-2011, 12:49   #2

Boat: Westerly Corsair 36' "Stargazer"
Re: This is Impossible

Check the internet for off shore oil rigs using their own ferries to take crews on and off on a rotation basis. Apply directly to that company unless they sub contract the ferry service in which case you can get the name of a contact for the sub.
All the best !
Clif
clifford sloan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2011, 13:56   #3

Boat: Leopard Catamaran

Quote:
Originally Posted by clifford sloan View Post