Cruisers Forum

Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 4.45 average. Display Modes
Old 28-02-2015, 12:39   #4456

Boat: Krogen 58' Xiao Xiu
Send a message via MSN to JayCall
Re: The Joke Thread

True Story-right out of college in the early 70's, I worked as a controller at a large hotel in Myrtle Beach, SC. We had a lot of guests from the mid-west/upper Midwest. some of whom had never seen the ocean before. Early one Saturday morning, I was out on the pool deck while our food Dorector was setting up a brunch buffet. A guest came up from the beach and asked "Why s the water so much lower this morning than it was last night?" Our F&B Director, who had a pretty wicked sense of humor, replied "Well, they let some of the water out each night so the beach can be cleaned. It will fill back up in an hour or two." The guy just nodded, entirely satisfied with the explanation.
Old 28-02-2015, 15:13   #4457
nes

Boat: Island Packet 445

Quote:
Originally Posted by socaldmax View Post
These 2 stories are from my personal experience.

About 1987 I was on my first sub, we had duty that day, as section leader I was topside wandering around, making sure everything was OK. I watched as a visiting CDR (0-5) came across the brow and our brow sentry and topside watches gave half assed salutes. The CDR asked for our Commanding Officer (also a CDR) and the topside called down below. Right after that, a 3rd class (E-4) torpedoman rushed past the CDR and acted like he wasn't even there. No "Bye your leave, sir!" or salute or anything.