Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2016, 18:52   #1

Soft Decks

I'm relatively new to sailing and looking to buy a budget boat and refit so I can better know my boat and how to fix and maintenance it as time goes by.. A boat yard told me a boat I was looking at had some deck sections that were going soft.. Is this internal rot or just fatigue in these situations or something else and; is this a relatively easy repair and or replace, a symptom of a bigger problem, or should I just walk away? Thanks for your imput.
DavidF32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 19:47   #2

Boat: Liberty 458
Re: Soft Decks

Budget boats are somewhat of an oxymoron.

If you buy a project boat the effort and resources needed to get it in a condition that you desire will always be greater than what you estimate.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
leftbrainstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 20:37   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: None at this time

This is a very common question and a little searching would have brought you to a number of threads dealing with deck repair. Depending on the amount of deck core deterioration it could be a very large job costing 10s of $1,000s of dollars or many hours of your labor.
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 21:25   #4

Boat: Truant Triad 37 Cutter-Alaska, Leopard 40 Cat, Bahamas