Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-07-2016, 08:30   #46

Re: Safety for Americans abroad

Quote:
valhalla360 ]I'm calling bull on your story. At best there is a lot more to it than you were aware of. More likely it's an old urban legend you are repeating.
Call bull all you want Valhalla....I've absolutely NO reason to come on this board to write made up stories.

As far as what I've witnessed in my travels....(I log over 40,000 miles a month), and that's just for work. You?......I've been doing this for over 38 years now, so you could say I've seen a thing or two.

As to Saigon....I flew that exclusively for over 7 years. However, my "story" is true and FTR, not a reflection of Saigon or anyplace else in SE Asia This particular incident happened in a bar in HCM's "Backpacker Area"....lots of cheap hotels, bars, cafes etc..mostly visited by young Euros, Aussies etc.....very few Americans. This was just ONE particular incident and I could see nothing specific that provoked the incident. Believe what you want.

My experiences as a world traveler, like what most everybody else has described, is very positive. People are naturally curious and I'm always asked where I'm from....most always with a smile on their faces. No big deal. But on RARE occasion, I've experienced, as have members of my crew, anti American sentiment, and that quite simply is a FACT.

As to the OP....VERY few places in the world have I ever felt unsafe....non issue if one uses just a little common sense.
Old 22-07-2016, 08:43   #47
cruiser

Boat: Looking and saving for my next...mid-atlantic coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by surb View Post
Americans lack common sense and class and expect everyone to adhere to our rules when abroad and that is not how it works, sorry.
I thought that was Germans?