Cruisers Forum

Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-09-2010, 11:48   #316

Boat: Cal 2-46
I am only 43, but in my life I have witnessed first hand population growth, conspicuous consumption sky rocket, plastic use increase dramatically, the collapse of the worlds greatest fisheries collapse from what is essentially the bulldozing of our ocean floors and piling up of plastic in the ocean and the increase of polluting of heat and co2 into the atmosphere at a staggering rate.

I am an engineer, but it doesn’t take a scientist or a genius to see what effect people are having on the eco-systems of the world.

People who sail and/or enjoy cruising have a hard time ignoring what is going on the world, whether you agree with all the science that is going on the world or not! I truly feel sorry for anyone who doesn’t care about the condition of our oceans and atmosphere. This is not a political issue, this is every political persuasion’s work. The extreme politicization of issue about every human's right to clean water and air is farce and a diversion. We are all part of the solution.

Today we have higher buildings and wider roads, but shorter tempers and narrower points of view.
We spend more, but enjoy less.
We have bigger houses, but smaller families.
We have more compromises, but less time.
We have more knowledge, but less judgement.
We have more medicines, but less health.
We have multiplied our possessions, but reduced our values.
We talk too much, we love only a little, and we hate too much.
We touched the moon and came back, but we find it troublesome to cross our own street and meet our neighbors.
We have conquered outer space, but not our inner space.
We have higher incomes, but less morals.
These are times with more liberty, but less joy.