Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2009, 18:10   #1

Question Winter on the Chesapeake?

Does anyone winter aboard their sailboat in the Chesapeake? Any advice about this? Thanks ... at this point I'm just beginning to look.
Sundance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 18:58   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
We do winter here. North of Deltaville, VA you might want a bubbler. Some do and some don't. We live in house here. After mid December the water cools down into the high 40's (here on the south end). Up on the north end in DE it gets down right cold and they have ice.

From November to about now you can get "stuff". Nor'easters are more the problem here than hurricanes overall. We get far more of them and they tend to be in the winter but can come anytime. Gale force winds that last a while. For us we haul every two years for bottom paint. The water in the summer gets quite warm. We moved here in 2002 as real estate was quite the deal then. The farther north you go the worse it gets. Still some great deals on the eastern shore on the south end. You just can't find jobs (unless you like chickens) over there so stuff is cheap.

Are you looking to live aboard?
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 20:22   #3
Writing Full-Time Since 2014

Boat: PDQ Altair, 32/34
It isn't so much the distance north, as the salinity of the water

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundance View Post
Does anyone winter aboard their sailboat in the Chesapeake? Any advice about this? Thanks ... at this point I'm just beginning to look.