Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2013, 00:04   #1

Water

Hello, I'm new to sailing and around Dec. 1/13 I'm planning to go to the Bahamas for the winter. My question centers about water, I have enough drinking water however I was thinking about water to shower, I was thinking about connecting like 4 house filters together to be able to shower and maybe do the laundry. I usually am on the hook and I though this might work. I'm on a budget so I wanted to try to bypass the expensive RO systems out there. Any ideas or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your help.
An old salt against the wind.
salty5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 05:34   #2

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401
You want to do what with the house water filters? It sounds like you're trying to make really clean salt water. Use just one and get the same result.
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 05:41   #3

Boat: Traditional 30
Re: Water

Sounds like you need one of these
http://www.rvwarehouse.com.au/assets...r-20shower.jpg

As for the washing. Wash in salt water first then rinse with fresh. I saw a great home made washing machine that was merely a 20 lt paint drum with a lid, that the person would drop over the bow. The motion of the boat and waves would agitate the contents.
ozskipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 05:54   #4

Boat: Nothing large at the moment

If you are going to shower and wash in salt water why bother to filter it? You still need to rinse in fresh water and you will be surprised how hard it is to rinse out all the salt water. If you do not the cloths will never dry. Better to take you laundry ashore and do it there. Do you have a water maker?
Tingum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 07:50   #5

Quote: