Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-11-2013, 14:23   #1

Washington state marinas

Hey there,

I am a newbie here. One of the reasons I joined was to ask if anyone has any "inside information" about living aboard in LaConner, Anacortes, Bellingham area. We have frequented LaConner and Anacortes as guests in our sailboat years ago. We leased a slip in Everett, WA for years, again as guests.

I'm mainly interested in the attitudes and friendliness of the staff. I just read an article about Shilshole in Seattle where the author said that it was live aboard unfriendly.

Anacortes (Cap Sante) has just begun accepting live aboards on a pilot program. That has me a bit worried because if the "pilot program" doesn't seem like it's working they will revert to the no live aboard rules. There is a great shortage of alternatives. Most other marinas in the area have a 3 year waiting list. Yikes! LaConner, as of this moment, is not accepting any new applications.

Advice?
JJStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2013, 15:35   #2
Resin Head

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Nauticat
Re: Washington state marinas

Shilshole is far from unfriendly. I've lived aboard there for 19 years, raised my kids there.

Consider Phlebas, who was once handsome and tall as you.
minaret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2013, 17:00   #3

Boat: Roughwater, pilot house, 58 ft

Many of the live aboard came from Laconor as they didi not allow live aboards. So why not stay in Everett?

Everett is live aboard freindy close to Seattle and the water is brackish which easy on the boat.
rw58ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2013, 17:13   #4

Boat: Meta Arctic Voyager 47
Send a message via AIM to northwestsailor Send a message via Skype™ to northwestsailor