Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 29-10-2015, 13:01   #1

Boat: Moccasins and pony
Unexpectedly moving aboard

I've been running a farm 400 miles from the boat for over 15 years. Just took a job managing a grain facility 25 miles from the boat! I'd have never predicted this, but I tied the boat up to the dock the other day and have been moving in at night after work.

The boat has been on my mooring for over two years and hasn't moved due to my back injury and surgery. Arrived at the rural creek after dark, following a long day of grading soybean trucks. Paddled out on an inflatable paddle board with all my stuff and got to work commissioning the boat after years of sitting idle. Engine was winterized two years ago and hasn't been started since. Fired up instantly after I first got some oil in the top end. Not much smoke to speak of.

Spent nearly two hours in the water getting the nasty prop squeaky clean, and a cursory pass around hull and through hulls. Wetsuit is one of the better investments I've made over the years. Took a two hour nap and awoke at 0400 to start the 12 hr trip. Amazingly, I arrived as planned, with zero issues. Hard to believe. Two years represents a lot of neglect on my part, but I was still farming with my back hosed and I was doing good to keep my job, my wife, and boat altogether. The boat was very well maintained mechanically before so I guess that paid off.

So, a new chapter begins. I miss my cattle herd especially and the creativity needed to manage a big diverse farm and a few dozen peeps. Also miss my family 6 hours up the road, but I get home most weekends. I make far more money and live on a killer boat, so there will be no complaints from me!