Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-08-2015, 21:17   #1

Question Total noob. maybe dreaming. don't hurt me.

My first post on this site!

So, I've been a landlubber my entire life. I've been bass fishing on aluminum john boat on lakes many times. I've been on cruise liners several times on vacation. I've been on a bay fishing trip and a "deep sea" fishing trip off the Gulf coast of Texas. (50-55 miles offshore in a 32' Fountain) - so not salty by any definition!

I am 10-15 years from retirement where I am now. I have an opportunity to move to Clear Lake TX for a job that could be much more lucrative, and retirement could happen closer to the 6-8 year timeframe, with a much better retirement income.

IF this happens, I'm considering perhaps moving into a full-time liveaboard situation in a Clear Lake marina. I've been lurking on here for a while and the thought just appeals to me for some reason. My wife is open to the concept.

Right now, we live 200 miles inland, and are very close (geographically and emotionally) to her folks, kids, and grandkids. She is not real interested in setting deep roots in Clear Lake or Houston for that reason.

So my dreamer's vision is to move onto a liveaboard. Gotta sleep 6 for a weekend. 4 adults and 2 kids for sure. 6 adults (3 couples) preferred. That way we could host various permutations of her (and my) family on occassion. No need for blue water capability, nothing past the Bahamas, anyway. We could spend a few years mostly in the slip, but increasingly venturing out into the water and learning to sail.