Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-05-2010, 09:36   #1

Boat: FPD 1760 LCD 17"screen
Tips and Tricks for Space-Saving Storage ?

Newbie here with a question for all of you live aboards. How do you arrange your stuff ,so that it takes up minimum space. Any tricks you could share ? Thanks in advance .
Adax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2010, 10:36   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Lived aboard & cruised for 45 years,- now on a chair in my walk-in closet.
Boat: Morgan OI 413 1973 - Aythya
Storage hammocks, soft bags instead of hard cases, shelving with fids and/or fiddle boards.- these can be helpfull, but above all else, have less stuff. Enjoy the freedom of non-ownership! Take care and joy, Aythya crew
Hudson Force is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2010, 11:03   #3

Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Adax, We just put a post up on our Beach House website that addresses some of those very questions.

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2010, 11:55   #4

Get rid of a lot of stuff that you don't need. "Systems" take up valuable storage space and their installations make it harder to get to different parts of the boat. Cut down on clutter, and don't be afraid to throw stuff away.
rebel heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2010, 11:59   #5

Boat: 50' steel canal and river cruiser
Be brave and cast the clutter adrift. You will be surprised what you dont need
Old 25-05-2010, 12:07   #6
Long Range Cruiser

Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Look at all the spaces you have that dont get utilized. Then work out how you are going to stuff crap in there.