Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-02-2016, 13:17   #1

Thinking about living aboard

So I have been considering living aboard but don't know where to start, I've looked at boats, crunched numbers, but I still feel lost. I'm 18 and love to sail, My uncle and grandfather both spent time living aboard but it was before I was born. I've been considering living aboard for the past 3 years and crunching numbers to see what it will take to make my dream come true. I won't be purchasing a boat till i'm in my early 20's (unless I stumble upon buried treasure). I plan to spend around 20-25k on my first boat but always looking for something below 20k.

My biggest questions/ concerns is how big of a boat should I get and what are some boats that make good liveaboards.

P.S. I'm interested in getting a sailboat so motorboat feedback, while I'm grateful for it, isn't what I'm looking for.

Thank You all for your time.
Illium117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2016, 13:39   #2

Boat: 1995 Privilege 51
Re: Thinking about living aboard

I usually refer young people to youtube. Liveaboard is different from cruising though, so may want to specify. For example, I will be buying a catamaran shortly and living aboard while I continue to work. Won't cut dock lines for 5 years.

Wicked Salty and others...

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...zNWKZ7I-WQqZls

~ Following Cs ~
FollowingCs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2016, 13:56   #3
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: Thinking about living aboard

Hi... Welcome to CF.
Its possible to do it smaller.. I've done it.. but if that's your budget I'd opt for something like a Hunter 30 (Cherubini) or an old Catalina 30.. enough space to stand up and.. if you want.. 2-3 friends to stop over.