Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-11-2015, 11:38   #1

Tell me about Solo Sailing

Hi there. Total newbie. Thinking of retiring in 7-10 years and the idea of solo sailing is appealing for many reasons. I enjoy solitude and would love to explore the world or park at my own pace and discretion. I am not misanthropic and wouldn't mind a companion, but I'm not counting on it and don't expect it. Is it realistic to go into this with the idea of solo sailing from the start? Should I plan on having a crew, etc.? I plan on learning to sail over the next few years, chartering, etc. I'm just wondering if this is nothing but a pipe dream.

Cheers,

Veto
Coloradoveto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2015, 11:53   #2

Boat: Hallberg Rassy Rasmus 35
Re: Tell me about Solo Sailing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coloradoveto View Post
Hi there. Total newbie. Thinking of retiring in 7-10 years and the idea of solo sailing is appealing for many reasons. I enjoy solitude and would love to explore the world or park at my own pace and discretion. I am not misanthropic and wouldn't mind a companion, but I'm not counting on it and don't expect it. Is it realistic to go into this with the idea of solo sailing from the start? Should I plan on having a crew, etc.? I plan on learning to sail over the next few years, chartering, etc. I'm just wondering if this is nothing but a pipe dream.

Cheers,

Veto
If it's a pipe dream you're not alone. Another newbie watching this thread...
wedivebc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2015, 12:00   #3

Boat: Club Sailor; various

If you follow your stated course of action I think the answer will reveal itself to you over time.