Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2009, 18:24   #1

Question Solar-Powered Air Conditioning ?

Hi,
this is D. This is my first time posting. T and I are using the same profile so I'll delineate myself from him to keep my silly questions from being mistaken as his.

My question is this: We are planning to go on a long cruising trip sometime in the future. Is it possible/practical to have a small air conditioner that runs off of a 12V battery that is powered by solar panels? I would only want this for the times when we are anchored(we are going to stay at marinas as little as possible) at night while sleeping..just the Vberth area..even if its just in the beginning of the night for a few hours. I was looking into some different brands that claim they can do this..
http://www.cruisair.com/sheets/L-2425D.pdf

Finding enough DC Power For Your DC Breeze 12v/24v Air Conditioning System

Does anyone have any experience rigging something like this up?

and if not how do the members that have been out cruising for 2 years or so keep cool when its hot outside. If you are anchored for say 2 weeks and its 85-95 degrees outside and you have no way of cooling down, what do you do?

When you cuddle with your loved one in the heat do you sweat and soak the cushions? then what do you do?

your input is greatly appreciated.

T & D
Target9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 18:29   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Quote:
Is it possible/practical to have a small air conditioner that runs off of a 12V battery that is powered by solar panels?