Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2010, 06:59   #1

Boat: Seaching for a small Trimaran to live aboard
Lightbulb Small Trimaran for Live Aboard (Suggestions and Tips)

Hi everybody,

I am very new to the sailing community but decided to invest some time now to reach one of my old time goals. I now that many people called it a “dream” but I rather call a goal because I want to reach it soon, so it sounds better that way. So please do feel offended if some of my questions or comments sound stupid, I am searching for knowledge.

But off course it is a “dream” life that I am looking for. I want to live aboard and sail. This is something that you “veteran sailors” must hear every day, but my GOAL has a little special touch. I want a small boat (as possible) so I can go to very low and non populated islands to dive (scuba and apnea).

I have been working on a trimaran everyday for the past 8 months and felt in love with it. That is way I am looking for some advices and tips from people that have experience and maybe one day started with a similar “dream or goal” as me.

My question is: What would be a good boat for me?

Some things that I am looking for:
· Trimaran
· Live aboard
· 2 person capacity
· Good boat for a novice sailor (Off course I am not going to cruise before I feel ready)
· 30 – 37´ (this was a suggestion that I got, but open for comments)
· Not for racing purpose
· Under US$ 30 K

I know that what I am looking is not something easy to find, but I am very committed to do it so any help from you would be much appreciated.

Thanks so much for your help.
Breno is offline   Reply With Quote