Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2012, 17:21   #1

Boat: 1967 Alberg 35
Single Handed Live Aboard

I am currently a live aboard on an Alberg 35. I have been at the marina for over a year now and have acclimated to the boat life. I.e. Long term food storage, fast easy meals the require a minimal amount of energy to prepare, water conservation and tracking etc. I intend to live on the hook, slowly at first but when all bugs are worked out, full time.
I will have aprox. 800 dollars a month for any expense that may arise. I am a competent electrician and mechanic and can do all repairs that may arise myself (provided parts aren't an issue).
What areas of my vessel do YOU fee I should focus on upgrading, overhauling, adding equipment like a water maker or solar panels (I have a wind gen) to improve the quality of life while on the hook?
Mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:06   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Lived aboard & cruised for 45 years,- now on a chair in my walk-in closet.
Boat: Morgan OI 413 1973 - Aythya
Re: Single Handed Live Aboard

Mouse, Are you out in the Thunderbolt area, on the Wilmington River or closer to downtown and up the river? We pass through Savannah twice a year and usually anchor on the Herb River. I would think that your needs would present themselves as you experience more time and cruising. Although I am not single-handed, I do take on the solo task at times and I find that an autopilot is most useful to engage while leaving the helm at brief times to take care of needs on deck or below. In addition, when single-handling and especially with an autopilot, items like jacklines, harnesses and a remote mechanism to disengage the autopilot become important. With "life on the hook"