Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-07-2014, 16:04   #1

Saving to Live Aboard and World Travel

Hey y'all

My name is will and I'm new to the sailing community and I am in love. Everything that I read and such about sailing and done with sailing has made me want to get a sailboat, live aboard and sail the world. I am a musician recently graduated and going to start working towards saving for a boat to get started on. Me and my girlfriend too are very serious about eachother and about sailing around the world. Not here to set records of sailing the world fast just enjoy life on a boat and play music along the way.

I am an Eagle Scout and lifeguard, background in hiking long distance and I love travel and what there is to see in the world. And sailing around it seems perfect.

My price range for a sailboat is 5-15k not including gagets I'll need and such like radar alert of other boats, radio for communication, some self steering stuff, gps as well as solar and wind power. I don't wanna be too gaget crazy but at the same time if it's just two of us we can't be at the helm 24/7 and we need communication. All in all budget is 25-45k and 4-5 years of saving to do so.

Been looking at sailboats like the hunter 34 with two fair sized births cuz I want fam and friends to visit on occasion.

So I need y'all's help and encouragements:

Whats a good 35 foot range sloop (cutter) in the 5-15k range? Needs; full bathroom (shower), storage for world travel, 2 fair sized berths, kitchen, prefer freezer, prefer no-minimal ducking.