Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-06-2012, 17:20   #1

San Diego Liveaboard help!

Hi all!!

Forum newbie here. I'm inheriting a 30ft Coronado that has been used as a liveaboard in both the San Diego and Newport Beach area for the past 3 years. My plan is to find a marina back in the San Diego bay area that will allow me to liveaboard with my dog, however I'm running into a few roadblocks from marinas not allowing liveaboards under 35 ft, but won't really give me reason as to why (most are citing previous tenant issues). I travel for work so time at home is rare to begin with, and when I am home, my dog either comes with me to work or goes to a doggie day camp (don't laugh!! she loves it!). Does anyone out there know of any marinas that may offer what I am looking for? I initially wanted to stay in the Shelter Island/Harbor island area (I graduated from Point Loma Nazarene University 10 years ago, so that area is my second home), but based on feedback from one marina, was told my only option was Pier 32 in National City. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Mahalo!
-AJ
surfbetty80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2012, 18:24   #2

Boat: 1974 islander 44
There are several mooring fields. Love the spot under the Coronado island bridge. Throne right by the airport isn't bad either.
Svsilvergirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2012, 19:20   #3

You can try Kathy here at Sun Harbor Marina. We're in Point Loma. I'm not sure what the rules are, but I can tell you that your odds of success with any marina are better if you come by the office in person and smile a bit. Marina managers get a lot of phone calls and introducing a "problem" tenant is the absolute worst thing they ever want to do.