Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-07-2013, 08:30   #1

Boat: Lagoon 380 #069
Remote Work Data Services

We're working on committing to a semi or circumnavigation. The house is on the market, wife left her job after a union battle (they offered severance and she took it, last time was 2x the amount, next time will probably be half). We're slowing getting rid of our possessions.

The point of contention appears to be me. I work in IT. I've chatted about taking a sabbatical but haven't made any inroads. And I can't blame them we're expanding east and west and manpower has been way lacking. So rather than walk into my bosses office for "the talk" I'd like to offer an alternative. One where I manage the servers remotely and bill them as a consultant.

Anyone have any experience doing remote work such as this? Which provider and data plans. I wouldn't even mind getting a satellite dome if the price is right.
yardie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 08:34   #2

Boat: Twin Otter de Havilland Floatplane
Re: Remote Work Data Services

Vous etes en France? Where, in the world, would you want to be based at?

Mauritz
Old 18-07-2013, 08:58   #3

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401

If your salary is correct, I'd think a satellite dome would be the best solution. You could work from anywhere and not worry about individual cell plans, coverage areas or dodgy internet cafes.
who knows, if you play your cards right, your employer may even cover the costs of the dome and service.
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 09:41   #4

Satellite domes are pricey, but worth the expense if you are going to remotely work from a boat; $10K - $25K USD, plus monthly charges.

Mauritz
Old 18-07-2013, 09:49   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teknav View Post