Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2017, 05:22   #1

Boat: Still looking...
Philadelphia liveaboard questions

I'm in the early stages of planning a move to a liveaboard in Philadelphia. I'm new to sailing but have been doing some research and just completed ASA 101 (103/104 next month). I know enough to realize how much I DONT know!

Anyway, I'd appreciate any recommendations re: Philadelphia marinas (I've heard some good things about pier 3), yacht brokers and insurance agents.

Thx in advance!
Xtra_hoppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2017, 06:08   #2

Boat: Carter offshore 35
Re: Philadelphia liveaboard questions

Come armed. Check the murder rate and home invasions in Phila. Look at transportation you may have to do some walking. Food shopping could be a problem also not many grocery stores close by. If you have a car watch the TV show on Philly Parking Authority and make sure you have at least $1000 available on you credit card. Might want to look at All Seasons Marina at Neshaminy State Park in Bensalem.
DeborahLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2017, 08:33   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Hoppy.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2017, 11:42   #4

First of all ignore all of DeborahLee's comments. Philly can be a wonderful place to live. Keep in mind non of the marina's there allow full time live aboards! It does not mean they are not there, but technically it is not allowed. I will not mention which I prefer, but it is my winter home.

Parking is not a problem, as long as you follow the rules. The marina I am in, comes with a one spot in a gated lot. Not the closest lot, but a two minute walk from my boat.