Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2015, 20:08   #1

Outboard on a 40ish'er?

Hi All!

I'm a brand new newbie here, in the midst of a divorce, with the house on the market, and plans to jump into the liveaboard lifestyle within the next few weeks. The biggest and most complex boat I've ever owned is a Hobie16, but I figured the best way to learn is immersion, so I'm all in. I work a weekday 9-5 (more like 8-7 most days), so won't be out on open water more than a couple of times a month and have no plans to cruise more than a night or two away from home base, which will be Dinner Key in Coconut Grove, FL. With my newbieness and limited plans to be away from the dock, I was wondering if it might not be a crazy idea to buy a boat that's missing its inboard, install an outboard on a raisable/lowerable bracket, and use the engine room for storage and/or tankage. It seems like the extra space might be really useful and I gather that outboard maintenance is both easier and less expensive. But then again, I don't see this configuration very often, so I wonder if there might be some major drawback for which I'm not accounting. Whatdayasay?

Thanks!
Michael
Bulliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 20:20   #2

Boat: VandeStadt IOR 40' - Insatiable
Re: Outboard on a 40ish'er?