Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-04-2012, 18:23   #1

One Step Closer

The house is on the market... and that means I am one step closer to the cruising life. I have really appreciated all the information and insight gleaned from this forum over the past several months. I thought I would take a moment and briefly share my story and plan. I've been serious about this change for about one year.

I'm an emergency physician (second career) in Florida. I am 53, and my wife of 32 years is 55. She is a wonderful woman who has supported my crazy ideas (like going to med school at 38) throughout our marriage. She has been expectedly slower coming around to the idea of forsaking land-based life for a nautical one, but at this time seems genuinely excited, at least most of the time, about our future plans.

Here's what we've done thus far. I've read (and continue to read) everything about sailing and cruising that I can get my hands on. We've attending the sailboat shows in St. Pete and Miami in the last 6 months. We've both taken and passed ASA 101, 103, and 104. We've gotten a little experience sailing on a friend's boat. We plan to take 105 and 106 in the next few months. We have a pretty good idea what boat we would like to make our future home (probably a new catamaran in the 37-42 ft range. The house just went up for sell this week. The money from the sale of the house will go toward the boat.