Unless something has changed in Florida, the State definition of a "live-a-board" is any occupied vessel that has not moved geographically from its location for 30 contiguous days. If you up anchor
and move across the bay/river/whatever before the 30 days is up, you are NOT a live-a-board as defined by the State.
- - As a live-a-board, Florida law says any "official" of the State can board and inspect you for proper MSD/holding tank usage, etc.
- - If you move before the 30 days are up you are a "transient" and the rules are not designed to be overly onerous. The intent of the law was to separate the long term and derelicts from the honest transients.
- - If nobody is living onboard or the boat is in a marina then it is exempt from the "live-a-board" rules.