Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 27-12-2010, 12:13   #1

Boat: mt34dt
Newbie Here - Need Advice

Hello all,

I'm Mike and this is my first post but long time follower. I have made the decision to move aboard a smallish boat and cruise the Caribbean. I will break away June 2012 as this is when my son graduates from HS. I am single retired Navy for I have my pension. Plans are to live in Caribbean in winter then head up intercoastal during hurricane season or hole up near South America. My last boat was a Nonsuch 26 until Katrina claimed it. I have read many posts about good boats and not sure if I should go more seaworthy or more comfort. I have no plans of sailing the world. I have $100K in savings and a retirement income of $1400/month. Social security will kick in in about 6 yrs adding another $900/month to the kitty, also will have a small $400/month retirement from teaching in 2015. I like small boats and the PS Orien and Shannon 28 have my eye. Wondering if I should go up in footage to a lesser built boat for more room. I will be single handing it most of the time and an occasional guest will be aboard a few weeks a year. What would you do? Larger boat more room, more seaworthy boat less room. I would like to keep boat budget to < 50K and have the rest for cruising kitty/emergencies. Sorry for the long winded msg. and I have read extensively but still comfused. Thanks, Mike

Old 27-12-2010, 12:20   #2
Freelance Delivery Skipper..

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Send a message via Skype™ to boatman61
pirate

Hi Mike... welcome aboard...
From my viewpoint if your mainly single handing with the occasional 1 guest at a time stick with the 28/30ft size... as you say you've no plans other than the Islands so keeping costs down is the way to go... unless you want a seperate cabin for the guest...
Good luck with your goals and happy sailing

Born To Be Wild
boatman61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2010, 12:27   #3