Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-05-2015, 16:47   #1

Need advice on boat buying in Florida

Im moving to from Alaska to Tampa to buy a liveaboard boat in 3 weeks (My first one sank in St.Thomas during a hurricane) and am not sure where to start when I get there.Im a disabled Vet with a service dog and wont have a vehicle,which complicates things.

My last boat was a Cal27. Im looking for something similar in the 8-10k range.
There are so many on yachtworld that Im not familiar with that I get more confused by the day.I'm looking for some good advice/ideas.

Also,Im not familiar with Tampa and have to rent an inexpensive hotel room for a few weeks while I boat shop,any ideas.

Theres to much I dont know at the moment that its taking all the fun out of it,which sucks as it took me 3yrs to save the $

Thanks-Tom
Cabin Fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2015, 18:22   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Need advice on boat buying in Florida

Hi Tom and welcome to the forum.

I'm slightly familiar with Tampa so can offer some assistance. First, most of the marinas are around Clearwater or SW St Pete. Of course no guarantee that that's where you'll find a boat but guess it couldn't hurt to look for a place in one of those areas.

I would try shopping on Craigslist and also checking with some of the boatyards and marinas for orphaned boats. Lots of cheap places to stay but check the neighborhood as some of the cheap places aren't in the nicest locale.