Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-06-2009, 14:01   #1

Boat: 1999 Steel (Tom Collin's design)
Living Aboard in New York

I'm very new to this "live aboard" concept. I've always wanted a boat, and then the stars seem to be aligning to actualy get one. I've always wanted a sailing yacht, but never was able to put together something that would make monitary sence.

I'm looking at a potential promotion to a new location near Watkin's Glen. The idea would be to work a short distance away, and commute to the marina and the boat. Coming from Texas as I am, I don't have a clue about boats in New York. I'm thinking it would make sence to buy a 40' boat of some sort, sail it down the canals, and the dock it at a marina somewhere at the extreme southern end of the Finger Lakes around Ithica, or Wakins Glen.

I'm thinking a 40 foot boat, as it should provide enough space for myself, my wife, and maybe a new born.

A hand full of questions for New York live aboards.

How bad is the ice near Watkin's Glen? I was reading on the wikipedia that Seneca lake almost never freezes over? Is that actualy true? If it ices over, how hard is it to use ice eaters, heaters aerators, or something to keep it undercontrol.

What do you suggest to find a marina? I'm thinking it would be important to find a place that keeps the electricty on year round, and maybe the water too. Also would likly be imporant to find a place that does a semi-decent job controling the pile up of snow and ice on the docks. Any suggestions, or coments?