Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2013, 13:25   #1

Liveaboard/mooring questions for San Diego area

Hi, to begin with, I am a newbie to all of this, but I've been doing lots of research and talking to lots of folks asking for advice. This forum is great, and I've read all of the applicable liveaboard posts on here already. I'm looking for up-to-date info to some questions I have, and any general thoughts on what my plans are.

I live and work in San Diego currently, and have been living in a walk-in-closet sized backyard cottage with my boyfriend for the last year or so. We are 28 and 33 years old, but value the simple life. Because of this, I know the tight quarters of a boat would likely be an upgrade for us, or at least be do-able.

I grew up sailing on my grandfathers 38' sailboat, but haven't been sailing much since I was a teenager. I've had a dream of living on and owning a sailboat ever since then. I have plans to seriously learn to sail later this summer.

My boyfriend and I are looking for a new living situation, and I am thinking of finally purchasing a boat to live on, which we would share the slip rent for.

I've found decent boats on craigslist for under $10,000, some of which have slips that can be transferred over eventually if the current owners put us on the title as "partners" for 6 months or more. I have read that liveaboard slips in san diego have multi-year waiting lists, so finding a boat with a slip seems like the best option. Or does anyone have thoughts on buying a cheap boat just for the slip? I've heard of folks doing this, but does this still work? And if so, how?