Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-07-2016, 05:49   #1

Liveaboard - advice please

Hullo all, I'm a newbie on this forum and a liveaboard wannabe looking for some serious advice.

I am planning to retire in about 2 years, the ideal is to buy a liveaboard and cruise the QLD coast and/or Indonesia/Thailand. Its just my wife and I and our golden Lab, we are looking to buy something in the line of a 49' Defever for around the 300K mark.

I have spent most of my life around the sea but unfortunately no time in boats anywhere near this size. Can any similar minded folk give us their thoughts and experiences with regard to monthly running costs (maintenance,insurance and whatever other expenses I havent thought about), courses in QLD to attain the appropriate boat handling proficiency and any other advise or info that could help us live the dream.

Cheers
Puma 01
Puma 01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2016, 06:06   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Re: Liveaboard - advice please

Good luck, nice boat, and you should be able to get a good one. I initially winced when I saw Lab, but then saw 49 Defever, I'm sure you will be fine.
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2016, 06:59   #3

Boat: Able 50

Getting a dog back into Australia isn't worth the trouble. What is the quarantine? 30 days I think. The absolute minimum quarantine is 10 days but entry from only one of the Asian countries qualifies (Malaysia). All are longer plus you pay for the quarantine plus you pay for rabies shots, on and on it goes. $$$$
savoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2016, 07:21   #4

Thanks Mod, he's quite relaxed for a Lab so there should be enough room for the 3 of us.