Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-10-2015, 04:29   #1

Leaving the rat race behind

Hi,

We are based in South Africa and my husband and I have decided to leave the rat race behind and investing in a better quality life spending more time with our 3 and 5 year old daughters.

We are seriously considering sailing the seas, living aboard and visiting as many places possible.

We have read a lot of books and my husband was part of a crew that delivered a Leopard Catamaran from Cape Town to Miami in 2007. I have no experience whatsoever.

What would be the first steps to take to get us going? Should the two of us do a delivery first or should we try to get a skippers licence first?

Any help or advise will be very much appreciated!

Mel
Oli4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2015, 05:42   #2

Boat: Currently Shopping, & Heavily in LUST!
Re: Leaving the rat race behind

Welcome to CF!

In answer to your question(s). I'd say, go sailing as much as you can, as a couple & solo, whenever you get the chance. Be it day sails, racing, or longer trips. Start slow, in order to get the basics. But don't hold back from pushing yourself outside of your comfort zones either.
As one pretty much has to (do) in order to really learn.

And while many on here hate the "R-word" (racing). It's a great tool (as well as being fun), because when you're racing, you'll learn 5x as much or more, for every hour spent on the water vs. each hour spent conventionally sailing.
This is because, when racing, everyone onboard is pushing to use every miniscle, available resource in order to gain that last little advantage over the competition.