Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2016, 10:13   #1

Boat: Jeanneau 54 DS
Latex vs Foam mattresses ?

Anyone have experience with latex mattresses? I have been looking to replace the mattresses on my boat and Latex is way more expensive. Is it worth the price? Thanks , I am a newbie and really appreciate the information offered on these forums. Best wishes Burt
bjymd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 17:48   #2

Boat: Catalina 42 MKII Pullman
Re: Latex vs Foam mattresses ?

New boat owners here, interested in comments!

We have had terrible reactions with foam mattresses in the home!
98blackbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 18:42   #3

Boat: Hunter 2003 356 - Persistence

We have spent 988 days on our 2003 Hunter 356 and when we commissioned the boat, we bought a 4 inch topper foam mattress pad from Walmart and put over the original queen size rear berth. We sleep more comfortably on the boat than we do at home. If you happen to be allergic to foam, it won't work for you. We maintain our temperature on the boat with either shore power at the dock or running our generator continuously when away from the dock, so humidity and temperature are always within our comfort range regardless of outside conditions.

Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
J Clark H356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 19:56   #4

Nearly 6 years on a latex mattress. (At night anyway.) Very comfortable, still pretty much as good as new. Incredibly, inconceivably, almost unnaturally, heavy.

John McEnroe
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 20:43   #5

Boat: Sayer 46' Solent rig sloop