Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Closed Thread

Old 29-07-2013, 14:31   #1

Is My Dream Possible?

Hello everybody. I've always dreamed with roaming the seas endlessly, stopping only occasionally at some ports. I am quite an introverted person, so I won't really miss the contact with other humans and I love the sea with all my heart, especially the Mediterranean.

My dream is to buy a sailing boat and to live aboard it. I want to move all around the Mediterranean and to live from the sea, if possible. My home port will be Southern Italy.

I don't have a boat right now. However, I can save money to buy one. I am 33 years old. I haven't been trained in sailing yet. I heard it can be a bit expensive, but I am willing to pay for it. I am single and I don't want to get married. I have a PhD in Chemistry (which I intend to use to earn enough money to buy my boat). I am Italian, but I live in Ireland. I speak Spanish, Italian and English.

My questions are this:

Is it possible to live like I want to live?
How much money do I need in order to buy a good sailing boat (nothing fancy) and to be trained as a sailor?
Is there a way to be trained as a sailor and to make money during the process (like working aboard)?
If you are already living like I want to live, how do you earn your living?

Thanks!

Old 29-07-2013, 14:44   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Is my dream possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glaucus View Post
Is it possible to live like I want to live?
How much money do I need in order to buy a good sailing boat (nothing fancy) and to be trained as a sailor?
Is there a way to be trained as a sailor and to make money during the process (like working aboard)?
If you are already living like I want to live, how do you earn your living?

Thanks!
- Yes.