Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2018, 12:38   #1

Hurricane staying aboard

I am new to life aboard a boat and I am going to be riding out storms on the boat I need guidance tips and advice. I am currently anchored in Englewood Florida on a 34 ft morgan. I was thinking about moving down to the keys if anyone knows of any hurricane holes in the areas that would be awesome as well!
Capt.Ty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 12:55   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Hurricane staying aboard

First thing, if you have sufficient warning and can do so safely, try to get out of the track of the hurricane or at the very least, out of the dangerous semicircle.

If you plan to stay onboard make sure you are in a location that you can safely bail out and reach land if you drag. This would have to be in a spot where you won't be hit by large waves so an enclosed harbor or river. If you beach in big surf you will possibly die.

In the Keys everyone, his brother, cousin and next door neighbor is looking for a hurricane hole. If you find one when you get there you'll probably find 4-5 other boats beat you there.

Don't know the 34 Morgan but if it's shoal draft like the OutIslands then way back in the mangroves with every line you have tied to shore.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 13:03   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

I get out of Florida this time of year, not saying where I am is safe, but I’m sure it’s safer than the keys.
My advice is leave, head North, if you have to stay in Florida I have heard the Marina in Cape Canaveral in the canal, not the port, is better than most. But I don’t know that.
Come back in November.
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote