Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-02-2019, 02:33   #1

How do most work in the city, but live on the boat?

I am curious what or how most live on their boats if they do have a non-remote job in the city. Example, im a critical care nurse, so i work at a local hospital 3 days a week, but the other 4 days im off. Just trying to understand the ways people pull this type of lifestyle off? I saw a few searches that people with sailboats leaving the boat at anchor, then dingy-ing to the marina and leaving the dingy there while at work, but also saw some just buy a dock slip and live at the dock.
storx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2019, 03:01   #2

Boat: Custom Catamaran
Re: How do most work in the city, but live on the boat?

I work in the City three days a week, then drive down to the coast on Wed eve and spend the next four days on the boat in a marina. It works because I can work from home but if I did have to work in an office five days a week, I’d just work closer, live on the boat and drive to the office each day.
ausnp84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2019, 04:06   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54

Why would you want to?