Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2012, 19:28   #1

Heading to Washington DC area & need advice on liveaboards

Hello! I am a Marine about to transfer from Monterey, CA, to Quantico, VA (near Washington DC). This is my last tour in the military before I retire and I would like to transition to life "off the hard." Unfortunately though, I have no knowledge of how to purchase/rent a boat for liveaboard, or how to find a marina that supports this lifestyle. Is there anyone who can aid me in this process and steer me in the right direction for gathering information?

Thank you!

Trey
Raider08tmhm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 03:31   #2

Boat: Island Packet 380 - Delta Blues
Re: Heading to Washington DC area & need advice on liveaboards

To familiarize yourself with the liveaboard lifestyle, you might start by reading Liveaboard magazine, which is available online. They also have a forum (like this one) that has a lot of good information.

Once you get to Virginia, you might want to check out the marinas near Occoquan. There are three there, but I don't know if any allow liveaboards. But if so, just start walking the docks and talk to people. Liveaboards tend to be a friendly bunch.

https://sailingdeltablues.com/
dennisjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 07:33   #3

There are a couple marinas in downtown DC (off Maine Ave) Gangplank is one that allow livaboards
Dcamp9709 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:53   #4

Boat: Matlack, Trawler, 48 ft

There's a large marina in Woodbridge, VA just a few miles from Quantico where you can explore the boating world.