Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-03-2012, 12:04   #31
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Lived aboard & cruised for 45 years,- now on a chair in my walk-in closet.
Boat: Morgan OI 413 1973 - Aythya
Re: Grey Area - Permanent Address?

There are accepted and approved procedures by which a person can establish residency with St. Brendans Isle, although these requirements are no big leap for me. I've been a Florida resident for 60 years and a Clay County resident for 33 years, just a few miles from the physical site of St. Brendans Isle. Actually, despite what is the standard operating procedures, there are plenty of "back doors" for those that do not fit typical descriptors. It can be easier to claim an address that suits the red tape, but even a homeless person living in a cardboard box under the freeway can fill out the forms for the Census Bureau. A child living in a car can attend pubic schools that ask for the same "required proof of residence".....and a person living in a boat can run the gauntlet of all the red tape and get a driver's license, but it can be easier to make yourself appear like a "normal" person as some have suggested.
Old 29-03-2012, 13:18   #32

12 months ago I changed from NY drivers license to FL.
Was anchored at dinner key marina Miami.
Changed one credit card and Verizon telephone bill to marina address.
FL DMV accepts print out from internet of account address, do not even have to wait for mail.
Went to FL DMV - had FL drivers license in hand 2 hours later...
I now use St Brendans.
Try something like that with NJ....