Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2018, 04:11   #1

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fast 40.3
European Impressions of Cruising the US

Vinni (my wife) and I have been cruising the US for 9 months. It is rare to see foreigners impressions of the US here on CF. This post may encourage other non-americans to spend time there.

First let me say that we enjoyed our cruising immensely and met, almost to a man, only very friendly and helpful people. We fly our Danish flag from the stern, and of course that meant we quickly ended up in conversations at the docks.

“Danish? Or What flag is that? Did you really sail that small boat all the way over here? (Capri is 40 feet). Just the two of you? When did you leave?” Etc.etc. etc.

As I noted, a great conversation starter.

Capri has a draft of 7 feet, fully loaded for extended cruising, she’s about 7 feet 3 inches and then add a couple of inches for sailing in fresh water (ICW), so while we cruised the US we were sporting closer to 7 ½ feet than 7. That meant that finding anchor spots was typically a challenge – especially along the ICW, which meant we ended up in marinas most of the time. Finding marinas that could take us was also a challenge. More about that further down.

Our route started in Fort Lauderdale and went up the ICW and coast to New York then further up the Hudson to the Catskills, back down the coast, across the C&D canal and then the Chesapeake, where we spent a couple of months, before heading back down the ICW.