Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2012, 09:11   #1

Do Not Pass GO!

I feel like all my life I have been drifting. And, now that I know what I want to do I will never have enough money or ability to do what I want. I feel like Cinderella minus the Fairy Godmother, which is fairly disturbing for a guy. I know that I want to be on a boat. I know that I want to sail from place to place staying about 4 – 6 months at a location. While there working, living, and discovering. I just don’t know how to get started. All I have is a dream.

I currently live in Colorado, also known as the furthest away from a large body of water that I have ever been and for the longest period of time. As long as it is legal I don’t care what I do for a living or where (although, a lot closer to an ocean would help). I will be saving up my money and if all goes well I may be able to put some money down on a boat (looking at $20,000 to about $30,000). Part of me does think that this is possible though, the other part remembers that I am not what you would call a lucky man. I have no degree only a willingness to learn, and the humility to ask when I don’t understand something.
So, why the rambling? It seems to me that the economy of today is such that it really takes 2 incomes to be able to make anything happen. So unless I somehow duplicate myself or the clouds part and the angels sing and I find a significant other that actually has a similar dream as mine. How do I get started?

Thanks for reading.
Scott
WhereAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:25   #2

Boat: bavaria, 49 ft. sailboat
Re: Do Not Pass GO!